top of page

Statement of purpose

My God is a song that was created after a recent fight I had with depression. In some ways, my verse is a method of venting, but I chose to take it in a direction where anybody who will be listening can relate to the struggle, and make the choice to rise up out of it. Although music isn’t the calling for everybody, it is the only universal language I am sure is actually universal. Everybody is connected through the sound, no matter their background. My verse is an example of how adversity is ever-present, but the connections made with others are powerful enough to break through it if you connect with the right people.

Depression is a lonely journey. The more you focus on what makes you depressed, the deeper the negativity becomes. Most people suffering with depression do the one thing that is the most detrimental to their healing; they isolate. My God was/is my attempt not to get swallowed up in the negativity swirling in my mind. Connecting to others, even though it is difficult when depressed, is one of the best remedies. It keeps you from continuing to spiral downwards, and potentially out of control. My God is a call for connectivity. Music connects us in ways we don’t always understand, but it transcends the issues we are dealing with, even if only for the length of the song.

This song was a opportunity to break free. I was dealing with problems connecting to others, mostly because I was suffering with writer’s block. People tried to help, tried to encourage me, but their attempts angered me. I wanted to write, wanted to create but it just wouldn’t come. People wanted to talk to me and I just wanted to be alone. I didn’t want my negativity and brooding to influence the people and environments I had to interact with but people didn’t understand that. I wasn’t being lazy, or moody, but was accused of being so, which deepened my depression. My God was my way of not-so-silently screaming.

Anyone listening to the music will be caught up in its beat, connecting them to all the others who feel it in their own way as well. The song is soft, it’s perfect to end a mix tape. Although I was dealing with depression, it was not difficult to write my verse once I did it; it’s a good verse. The vibes are soft but the words are truth. It is the kind of song you want to hear at the end of a tape.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page